Why So Difficult/Expensive to Pack Light?

Okay, so, I know that the two backpacks I'm taking to Malaysia are going to be all light and efficiently packed. That's a given, and a necessity.

Why are my lists so long?( I think they are mostly comprised of light and/or small-sized items.)

Why have I spent so much money? And must spend more because:

Why oh why don't my hiking boots feel okay on my feet any longer? Maybe they never really were the best fit, but they are one of two (yes, that's right, TWO) footwear choices for the trip, the other being sandals. They have been fine tromping through the woods with medium thickness Smartwools. Now, with lighter weight sox, the bendy part at the toebed is hitting my big toe in the wrong place. Grrr. Must buy new boots TONIGHT for proper breaking in.

(Good gear and high-tech clothing costs more money, even on sale.Would have liked it if the $79 TravelSmith dress had been on sale, but really, it IS perfect!)

I am not really complaining. Just observing. I always pack every damn thing when traveling, so this is an interesting exercise.

I totally answered my own question.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Comments

  1. deschampsia said,

    February 15, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Ha! I can't tell you the why, but I can agree on the truth of the statement. Every time we travel there is an appalling amount of gear that has to be purchased. Whether it is new luggage (suitcase/backpacks for walking around France) or appropriate gear (kayak booties and mosquito netting for North Carolina) there is simply always *something* that has to be purchased and unexpected expense.

  2. Debkakes said,

    February 16, 2009 at 2:35 am

    I am delighted that all of purchases so far have been successful and worked exactly as they were meant to! It turns out that Penang (and I'm sure we will find this in Kuala Lumpur) is secular enough that I COULD have brought tank tops or tank dresses. I sort of like having parameters I was trying to follow, though, instead of unlimited choices!


Leave a comment