FB & old BF

Opened my mail this morning to see this from old BF via Facebook:

"Hi, Deb:

I'd love to see some of your work sometime. Are you showing at any A&W shows or selling online at Etsy or eBay?

Thank you for accepting my friend request. I don't really deserve it, but it's good to be forgiven – after a fashion. You're a classy lady. I was a dick then, out of character, but recovered.

-D

PS: Dennis is probably dead from liver abuse. None of us have heard from him in forever. Patrice and I broke up after six years after I realized she was never going to thaw out.

Sometimes we have to fuck it all up to learn. You were good to me. I won't forget that – thank you."

So…strange. And decent. Doug was my first real relationship after my marriage broke up. He is 15 years younger than me – I was 42, he was 27. We should have had a 2-week fling. Instead, we drug it out to 10 months. We were very much unsuited, I don't think he was ever comfortable, and I was in passivity hangover from busted marriage and lack of reflection about my part in it. So we were doomed on many counts. Then, he got depressed and didn't get help for it. I kept thinking he should break up with me, and finally he did. It hurt as I knew it would. It also shot me out of the cannon and made me think about my own malfunctions.

We friended each other about six months ago on Facebook, and have kept up a small dialogue. I was pretty surprised to get this message from him. And quite pleased. Resolution is a good thing.

Read and post comments

1 Comment

  1. Beca said,

    May 23, 2009 at 5:44 am

    Wild!


Leave a comment